加爾文的遺囑

改教家加爾文(John Calvin)於1564年五月27日安息,得年54。他於四月25日口述最後的遺囑,包括下面這段話:

奉神的名,我加爾文、在日內瓦教會服事神話語的僕人,因許多疾病纏身而軟弱⋯⋯感謝神,祂不單向我這可憐的受造之物顯明祂的憐憫,⋯⋯也使我遭受各種罪惡與軟弱之苦,但更重要的是,祂使我有份於祂的恩典,得以藉著我的工作來服事祂。⋯⋯我承認,我或生或死都在祂所賜給我的這信仰中,因為除了祂的預定,我別無盼望或避難所,我的整個救恩都是建立在這預定上。我歡迎祂在我們的主耶穌基督裏提供給我的恩典,接受祂受死與受苦的福益;藉著它們,我的所有罪皆已埋葬;我謙卑地祈求祂,用我們偉大救贖主的寶血洗淨我,因為這血是為所有可憐的罪人而流的,因此,但願我顯在祂面前時能帶著祂的樣式。此外,我宣告:我曾竭盡全力,將祂的話語毫無玷污地教導出來,照著祂所賜給我恩典的度量忠心講解聖經。在我所帶領對抗真理仇敵的所有爭辯中,我不曾使用詭詐或任何詭辯,只有誠實地為祂的目標爭戰。但是,呃,我的意志、我的熱心是如此冷淡而懶散,以致我自知在每一方面都有了罪;若沒有祂無限的良善,我所有充滿熱情的努力無非如煙飄散,事實上,祂所賜給我的恩典甚至使我負罪更重;因此,我唯一的把握就是:祂是施憐憫的父。竟如此渴望將祂自己啟示給這樣一個可悲的罪人。

In the name of God, I, John Calvin, servant of the Word of God in the Church of Geneva, weakened by many illnesses . . . thank God that he has shown not only mercy toward me, his poor creature, and . . . has suffered me in all sins and weaknesses, but what is much more, that he has made me a partaker of his grace to serve him through my work . . . I confess to live and die in this faith which he has given me, inasmuch as I have no other hope or refuge than his predestination upon which my entire salvation is grounded. I embrace the grace which he has offered me in our Lord Jesus Christ and accept the merits of his suffering and dying, that through them all my sins are buried; and I humbly beg him to wash me and cleanse me with the blood of our great Redeemer, as it was shed for all poor sinners so that I, when I shall appear before his face, may bear his likeness. Moreover, I declare that I endeavoured to teach his Word undefiled and to expound Holy Scripture faithfully according to the measure of grace which he has given me. In all the disputations which I led against the enemies of the truth, I employed no cunning or any sophistry, but have fought his cause honestly. But, oh, my will, my zeal were so cold and sluggish that I know myself guilty in every respect; without his infinite goodness, all my passionate striving would only be smoke, indeed the grace itself which he gave me would make me even more guilty; thus my only confidence is that he is the Father of mercy who as such desires to reveal himself to such a miserable sinner.

John-Calvin_620

About akowcm

文士受教作天國的門徒
本篇發表於 Uncategorized, 加爾文。將永久鏈結加入書籤。

發表迴響

